14 Comments
Mar 8, 2022Liked by Marina Amaral

"The Memoirs of Cleopatra" by Margaret George.

It "transported" me 6,000 miles away and 2,000 years back in time!

Expand full comment
Mar 8, 2022Liked by Marina Amaral

Must admit I don't read that much non-fiction, although all titles you mention sound interesting and I'd love to read them, if only I could find the time!

I do read some fiction and tend to prefer female authors in this field. I'm one of those who prefers page-turners over Great Literature, and from that point of view I greatly enjoy, amongst others, the writing of Sarah Waters or Joanne Harris. (Harris gets bonus points for being so active on Twitter!)

Expand full comment
Mar 9, 2022Liked by Marina Amaral

Wuthering Heights - Emily Bronte

Expand full comment
Mar 9, 2022Liked by Marina Amaral

Really love the Henrietta Lacks book!

I also really love The Sparrow by Mary Doria Russell. Radioactive (about Marie Curie) by Lauren Redniss is really unique and beautiful. Poems by Mary Oliver and reflections on faith by Madeleine L'Engle are so restful and thought-provoking.

One of the next on my list to read is Disordered Cosmos by Chanda Prescod-Weinstein.

Expand full comment

The Gilded Page by Mary Wellesley, The Red Prince by Helen Carr, Cultish by Amanda Montell, The Secret Rooms by Catherine Bailey, How to Live Like a Monk by Daniele Cybulskie, and Misfits by Michaela Coel were the ones I read over the last year and LOVED 💃🏼

Expand full comment

"The Orchid Thief" by Susan Orlean and everything else by her. She writes only nonfiction in a distinct style.

Expand full comment

Clan of the Cave Bear by Jean Auel. AWFUL movie though. Hollywood please do a remake.

Expand full comment
Mar 8, 2022Liked by Marina Amaral

“To Kill a Mockingbird” by Harper Lee

Expand full comment
Mar 8, 2022Liked by Marina Amaral

I'm a non-fiction reader and loved Code Girls by Liza Mundy. It is the story of the female code breakers during WWII.

Expand full comment